Skip to Main Content

Homes and Community Renewal

Fair Housing 101 - The Laws

Federal Fair Housing Act and Whom It Protects

The federal Fair Housing Act refers to Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968. This Act, in addition to the New York State Human Rights Law, protects your right to rent an apartment, buy a home, obtain a mortgage, or purchase homeowners insurance free from discrimination based on:

  • Race
  • ColorĀ 
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status
  • Disability

New York State laws cover all the same characteristics but also protects based on:

  • Religion
  • Marital Status
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Age
  • Military Status

Goals of the Fair Housing Act

The Fair Housing Act has two main goals:

  • Ending housing discrimination
  • Promoting diverse, inclusive communities.

Fair Housing Laws

In addition to the federal Fair Housing Act, the following legislation and executive orders provide a basis for federal fair housing enforcement: